Our History

Town Officials

Current Officials Jack McDonald, Mayor —————————–David A. Rosow, Council President ———- Gail Coniglio, President Pro Tem William J. Diamond ————————————— Richard M. Kleid ————————————–—–Robert N. Wildrick Senior Management Team Peter B. Elwell, Town Manager Thomas G. Bradford, Deputy Town Manager William Amador, Fire Rescue Chief Jay Boodheshwar, Recreation Director H. Paul Brazil, Public Works Director …

Town Officials Read More »


Mayors 1911 – 1917 ———“Cap” E.N. Dimick 1918 – 1918———-T.T. “Tip” Reese 1919 – 1921———-George W. Jonas 1922 – 1927 ———Cooper C. Lightbown 1928 – 1929 ———Barclay H. Warburton 1930 – 1934 ——- –John Shepard, Jr. 1945 – 1952 ——– James M. Owens, Jr. 1953 – 1970———Claude D. Reese 1971 – 1976———Earl E.T. Smith 1977 …

Mayors Read More »

Henry Morrison Flagler

Palm Beach was established as a resort by Henry Morrison Flagler, a founder of Standard Oil, who made the Atlantic coast barrier island accessible via his Florida East Coast Railway. The nucleus of the community was established by Flagler’s two luxury resort hotels, the Royal Poinciana Hotel and The Breakers Hotel

History of the Town

Palm Beach received its name from a shipwreck named the “Providencia.” The ship washed ashore in January of 1878 with a load of cocoanuts bound from Havana to Barcelona. Early settlers lost no time claiming salvage and planting the cocoanuts which were not native to South Florida in an effort to launch tropical South Florida on a commercial cocoanut industry. Henry M. Flagler, a millionaire industrialist and owner of the Florida East Coast Railway, began buying acres of land on the island of Palm Beach.